Yahoo / AFP
By Sibongile Khumalo

African leaders Sunday agreed to a framework to guide the next phase of negotiations on creating the continent’s biggest free-trade bloc, in a communique issued after a day of talks.

The new bloc would integrate the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the East African Community (EAC) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC), an idea first backed in 2008.

It would combine 26 countries home to 700 million people with a combined economy estimated at $875 billion (597 billion euros).

The bloc aims to enhance connectivity among the nations and reduce costs of doing business, while increasing investment flows to address capacity constraints.

The International Monetary Fund expects Africa to grow faster than the global average in the coming years. Six of the world’s 10 fastest-growing economies were on the continent last year.

The mega-bloc would bring together the continent’s most developed economies of South Africa and Egypt and some of its most energetic, such as Angola and Ethiopia.

It is expected to end the challenges presented by the current trade blocs which have different rules, with some countries belonging to more than one grouping, complicating efforts to streamline trade.

“This Tripartite is blazing a path to be followed by other regions in Africa in realising the dream of a united Africa,” said Sindiso Ngwenya, general secretary of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

“There are a number of areas where, by building on the work already done by member and partner states, working regionally, we can expect quick wins,” he said.

But the pact faces immense hurdles: tariff barriers, poor infrastructure, weak supply chains, and economies often largely reliant on natural resources rather than manufactured products.

The three existing free trade areas — of which the five-member East African Community (EAC) is the most advanced — have failed to meet intra-trade targets despite removing the bulk of trade tariffs.

And the bloc includes countries hit by conflicts, coups and political turmoil, such as Libya, Madagascar, Sudan and Zimbabwe.

As the 19-member COMESA join the other two blocs, the aim is to work towards combining small domestic markets into a larger, more effective force, said Swaziland’s King Mswati III, the COMESA chair.

Full article


Is Tunisia the first domino to fall?

Earth Bureaucracy – An Educated Review Of Global Governance *

Former Taoiseach says nation states and national sovereignty are no longer viable *

WTO Director-General Lamy speech on global governance *

The continued push for an interdependent world

Cartel Of Private Bankers Are The Government *

Remarkable Senate Speech On Global ‘Free’ Trade And The Destruction Of Society *